Monday, June 2, 2008

Rajasthan Royals deservingly the IPL winners, beats Chennai SuperKings

In a memorable moment, Rajasthan Royals, the most consistent side in the tournament and the league topper, defeated Chennai Super Kings to win the final in an exciting encounter. The final commenced at the DY Patil Stadium with a scintillating show and performance by Salman Khan and other stars.

Rajasthan Royals won the toss and choose to field. The Chennai Super Kings put up a fine performance to set a target of 164. Parthiv Patel exhibited some good shots in his knock of 38 in 33 balls. Suresh Raina continued with his good form and hammered 43 in 30 balls. With 29 from MS Dhoni the Chennai Super Kings got a total of 163 in 20 overs.

The Rajasthan Royals lost three quick wickets when the score was 43. The match appeared to be slipping out of their hands. Shane Watson steadied the innings with 28 in 19 balls. But the real match winner was Yusuf Pathan, who can definitely be called the find of the tournament. He hammered 56 in 33 balls with 4 sixes and 3 boundaries. Captain Shane Warne took the crease and saw some tense moments before clinching the victory by a run of the last ball of the tournament.

The Rajasthan Royals received the top prize of $1.2 million and the glittering trophy. The Chennai Super Kings won $600,000. The other awards announced were, Player of the match YK Pathan (Rajasthan Royals),Player of the series SR Watson (Rajasthan Royals), Batsman of the series SE Marsh and Bowler of the series Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals).Congratulations to a deserving win !

No comments: